Ads Top

13 LG chairmen dump APC for PDP

13 LG chairmen dump APC for PDP in Benue

13 Local Government chairmen in Benue state have dumped the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to Channels Television, the LG chairmen announced their defection to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Friday, July 27, 2018 at the Government House in Makurdi.
This is coming days after the state Governor, Samuel Ortom announced his resignation from the ruling party.Ortom said that disclosed that he was joining the PDP to ensure justice, equity and fairness for the people of Benue.
While speaking to newsmen on Wednesday, July 25, 2018, the Governor said “The 22 local governments represented by the councillors here and then the 13 local government chairmen have unanimously endorsed that my stay in the APC has expired, that I should look for another platform. On that note, I have formally resigned from the All Progressives' Congress.
"With your support, and because you have given me a blank cheque to also nominate a party that we can further fight to ensure justice, equity and fairness for the people of Benue State, let me formally announce to you that I now would join the People's Democratic Party."

Oshiomhole Vs Ortom

Adams Oshiomhole, in a statement issued to newsmen recently, said that he is relieved that Governor Ortom left the APC.
The APC chairman also said that fielding Ortom as the party’s candidate in 2015 was a mistake.
He also alleged that some of the Governor’s aides were involved in the killing of the two Catholic priests.
Ortom’s aide however fired back at Oshiomhole, telling him to speak with decorum.
The Governor’s spokesman also called on the APC chairman to speak in a way that will unite the ruling party and not divide it.
The Local Government chairmen who defected are: Anthony Shawon of Guma Local Government Area (LGA), Justina Sorka of Buruku LGA, Mwuese Ubebe of Konshisha LGA,Blessing Unogwo of Ado LGA, Virginia Kpindi of Katsina-Ala LGA and George Alli of Otukpo LGA.

Others include: Comfort Echeoda of Agatu LGA, Francis Ayaga of Gwer West LGA, Uaah Vitalis of Gwer East LGA, Richard Nyajo of Logo LGA, Ibellogo Tor of Tyokaa- Ukum LGA, Adakole Abutu of Ohimini LGA and Peter Onche of Obi LGA.
As a result of the recent development, the APC now has control of only 10 Local Governments in Benue state.
Scores of lives have been lost following several attacks on communities in the state allegedly by Fulani herdsmen.
13 LG chairmen dump APC for PDP 13 LG chairmen dump APC for PDP Reviewed by opeyemi on 7:38:00 am Rating: 5